Professor Friedrich Heinemann is head of ZEW’s Research Department “Corporate Taxation and Public Finance” as well as adjunct professor of economics at the University of Heidelberg.

He studied economics and history at the University of Münster, the London School of Economics and the University of Mannheim. He received his PhD from the University of Mannheim with a doctoral dissertation on the “Financial Constitution and Competencies of the European Union after Maastricht”. He was awarded his postdoctoral degree (Habilitation) at Heidelberg University.

Heinemann is a board member of the Leibniz ScienceCampus MannheimTaxation as well as of the Collaborative Research Center SFB 884 “Political Economy of Reforms” in Mannheim that is supported by the German Research Foundation (DFG). He is a member of the scientific board of the Arbeitskreis Europäische Integration, Berlin, and also a member of the board of trustees of the Institut für Europäische Politik, Berlin. Moreover, he serves as an advisor to the working group on Europe of the German Bishops’ Conference.

His research interest concentrates on empirical public finance and political economy with a thematic focus on European integration, taxation, and the reform of fiscal institutions for the European Union and the euro area.

Selected Publications

Projects

Department

Corporate Taxation and Public Finance

LLL:Image Friedrich Heinemann
Function

Head

friedrich.heinemann@zew.de

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-149

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-223

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Heinemann ist Leiter des ZEW-Forschungsbereichs „Unternehmensbesteuerung und Öffentliche Finanzwirtschaft“ und außerplanmäßiger Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg.

Er hat Volkswirtschaftslehre und Geschichte an der Universität Münster, der London School of Economics und der Universität Mannheim studiert. Heinemann wurde an der Universität Mannheim mit einer Dissertation über „Die Finanzverfassung und Kompetenzausstattung der Europäischen Union nach Maastricht" promoviert und an der Universität Heidelberg habilitiert.

Heinemann ist Mitglied in den Vorständen des Leibniz-Wissenschaftscampus MannheimTaxation und des von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Mannheimer Sonderforschungsbereichs 884 Politische Ökonomie von Reformen. Er ist Präsidiumsmitglied des Arbeitskreises Europäische Integration, Berlin, und Mitglied des Kuratoriums des Instituts für Europäische Politik, Berlin. Außerdem ist er Berater der Arbeitsgruppe Europa der Deutschen Bischofskonferenz.

Seine Forschungsinteressen gelten der empirischen Finanzwissenschaft und politischen Ökonomie. Anwendungen betreffen vor allem Fragestellungen zur europäischen Integration, zur Besteuerung und zur Reform von Fiskalinstitutionen für die Europäische Union und die Eurozone.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Projekte

LLL:Image Friedrich Heinemann
Funktion

Leitung

friedrich.heinemann@zew.de

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-149

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-223