Dr. Martin Streng, née Ungerer, is a researcher in ZEW’s Research Group “Inequality and Public Policy”. His interests include inequality, policy evaluation, migration, and applied statistics. He organises the joint ZEW-CDSE Summer Courses in close cooperation with the Graduate School of Economics and Social Science at the University of Mannheim.

From 2014 to 2018, Martin Streng was the scientific assistant of Clemens Fuest and a researcher in ZEW’s former Research Group “International Distribution and Redistribution”. After completing his PhD, he worked as a data analyst at DB Fernverkehr AG in the field of AI development and business analytics.

He completed his doctoral studies at the University of Cologne with his PhD thesis on inequality and migration under the supervision of David Jaeger. In 2016, he was on a research stay at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) in New York, USA. 

Publications prior to April 2022 are listed under the Name Ungerer.

Selected Publications

Projects

LLL:Image Martin Streng
Function

Researcher and Graduate Study Coordinator

Martin.Streng@zew.de

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-398

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-222

Dr. Martin Streng, geb. Ungerer, ist Wissenschaftler in der ZEW-Forschungsgruppe „Ungleichheit und Verteilungspolitik“ sowie akademischer Koordinator für die Promovierenden am ZEW. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Ungleichheit, Wirtschafts- und Sozialpolitik, Migration sowie angewandter Statistik. Er betreut die Kooperation mit der Graduiertenschule der Universität Mannheim und organisiert in diesem Rahmen unter anderem die gemeinsamen ZEW-CDSE-Sommerkurse.

Von 2014 bis 2018 war Martin Streng als wissenschaftlicher Referent für Clemens Fuest sowie in der ehemaligen Forschungsgruppe „Internationale Verteilungsanalysen“ am ZEW tätig. Nach dem Abschluss seiner Promotion arbeitete er als Data Analyst bei der DB Fernverkehr AG und betreute dort Projekte im Bereich der KI-Entwicklung.

Seine Promotion zu Ungleichheit und Migration hat er an der Universität zu Köln unter der Betreuung von David Jaeger abgeschlossen. Zuvor absolvierte er sein Studium der Volkswirtschaftslehre in Frankfurt und Köln sowie im norwegischen Bergen. Im Jahr 2016 war er zu einem Forschungsaufenthalt am National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) in New York, USA.

Publikationen vor April 2022 sind unter dem Namen Ungerer geführt.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Projekte

LLL:Image Martin Streng
Funktion

Researcher und Graduate Study Coordinator

Martin.Streng@zew.de

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-398

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-222