Millions of people are suffering under Russia’s attack on Ukraine. Many are fleeing. The EU and the German government have imposed a wide range of sanctions against Russia. The ZEW – Leibniz Centre for European Economic Research is investigating the economic consequences of the crisis and migration to contribute its expertise to the public debate. All our findings can be found on this theme page.

Achim Wambach
ZEW President

Prof. Achim Wambach

Please contact me for inquiries.
Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-100
Request via e-mail

The war is shattering many illusions. Sovereignty, international cooperation and security of supply now need to be reconsidered. First, however, everything needs to be done to stop the fighting.

Cold War Reloaded

Comment

“German Armed Forces Need More Centralization and Greater Flexibility When Purchasing”

The German government has agreed that the German Armed Forces must be modernised quickly to fulfil both its NATO and legal obligations. Accordingly, the German Bundestag provided additional funds worth 100 billion euros solely to be spent on military equipment and assets. Minister of Defence Christine Lambrecht has made out two bottlenecks in that regard: mandatory EU-wide tenders are time-consuming and internal procurement processes are too bureaucratic. ZEW procurement specialist Leonardo Maria Giuffrida, head of the ZEW Junior Research Group “Public Procurement" gives advice.

Read more

Kommentar

The Resilience of Labour in Times of War

As a result of the war in Ukraine and the Western sanctions against Russia, energy and commodity prices are rising. Goods for daily use are becoming more expensive, and oil prices are rising rapidly, as are inflation forecasts. Companies in the chemical and logistics sectors, for example, which are directly affected by the price increases for gas, oil and other raw materials, are adjusting their business models. Labour costs are falling with unexpectedly higher inflation rates and constant nominal wages. This has a temporary stabilising effect. Also, more people are employed in the defence industry, in energy conservation and alternative energies. However, aggregate demand for goods may decline as people begin to prioritise which goods they need and which they can do without if prices continue to rise.

Weiterlesen

Migration and Society

Forschung

Migration from Russia very likely

More than 4.6 million Ukrainians have fled the country since the start of the war. As a result of the invasion, more and more people are also fleeing from Russia. Reasons for this range from the restricted freedom of expression, fear of political persecution or being drafted into military service, to poor economic prospects following the unprecedented level of sanctions on Russia. What is different with current Russian migrants fleeing to neighboring countries compared to Ukrainian migrants, is that there are indications that the economically active population is over-represented among the Russian emigrants. This may include specialists in the IT and other creative sectors of the economy, who have international language skills as well as customers.

Read more

Forschung

Refugees Need Quick Psychological Help

More than two million people have fled from war and violence in Ukraine, especially women and children. They have experienced terrible things in the war and while fleeing, which is why they need not only medical but also psychological help after their arrival in Germany. ZEW researchers have provided an overview based on Google Maps to enable the best possible access to psychological care.

Read more

Comment

ZEW Economist Guido Neidhöfer: Integration More Likely to Succeed with Daycare Centres

Europe is showing unity and solidarity with the refugees of the Ukraine war. In Germany, they are being received quickly and unbureaucratically. However, there are still many unresolved issues. For example, it is not clear how long they will need protection. In the event that they cannot return to their destroyed homeland in the foreseeable future, strategies for successful integration are necessary. Studies by ZEW Mannheim show that the integration of young children can be particularly helpful for the successful integration of the entire family.

Read more

Comment

Civic Engagement Improves the Situation of Refugees

More than one million people from Ukraine are currently fleeing towards the west. Countless volunteers in Eastern Europe and Germany are organising emergency shelters and relief supplies to provide them with essential goods. Paul Berbée, a researcher of the Junior Research Group “Integration of Migrants and Attitudes Towards the Welfare State (IMES)” at ZEW Mannheim, explains the role of volunteers in supporting refugees.

Read more

Recalibrating Energy Transition

Debate

Embargo on Russian Energy?

Can Germany afford to sanction Russia with a ban on energy imports? This discussion between Professor Moritz Schularick of the University of Bonn and Professor Achim Wambach, president of ZEW, originally appeared in the 22 March 2022 issue of the financial daily ‘Handelsblatt’.

Read more

Corporations, Sanctions and Capital Marktes

Research

Experts Anticipate Slowdown of German Economy

German economic growth has stalled – and is expected to proceed at a sluggish pace in the coming years. According to the financial market experts surveyed by ZEW, lower but stable annual growth rates of between 2.0 and 2.5 per cent are anticipated in 2022 to 2024. Several factors will act as a drag on German GDP, including high energy prices, raw material shortages, and supply chain disruptions – as well as the new geopolitical situation that has arisen with Russia's invasion of Ukraine. The majority of experts have made downward revisions to their GDP growth forecasts for 2022, 2023 and beyond. With a view to the next five years, individual sectors of the German economy will be affected to varying degrees by geopolitical developments, with the greatest impacts being suffered by vehicle manufacturing, chemicals and pharmaceuticals, steel and non-ferrous metals, and mechanical engineering.

Read more

Kommentar

“Russian Assets and Rouble Now Junk”

The rouble has hit a record low as a result of Western sanctions. The Russian central bank reacts with a dramatic interest rate hike, raising the key interest rate from 9.5 to 20 per cent. Professor Friedrich Heinemann, head of the Research Department “Corporate Taxation and Public Finance” at ZEW Mannheim, has commented on that matter.

Read more

Comment

“A Turning Point for Fiscal Policy in Germany”

The EU Member States have agreed on a set of sanctions in response to Russia’s aggression against Ukraine. Professor Friedrich Heinemann, head of the Research Department “Corporate Taxation and Public Finance” at ZEW Mannheim, comments on the fiscal consequences of the war in Ukraine.

Read more

Focus on Baden Württemberg

You will find current research here shortly.

Our Experts at ZEW

Topics

Energy supply, economic development, health care

Topics

Debt and fiscal policy, Eurasian customs union, reconstruction and charitable giving, remittanes

Topics

Cyber security, digital sovereignty

Topics

Public procurement, accommodation for refugees

Topics

Macroeconomic consequences of the war, inflation, European defence policy, defence spending, debt/debt cap

Topics

Education, child care

Topics

Electricity market

Topics

Health care

Topics

Migration, integration

Topics

ZEW Financial Market Survey, economic sentiment, financial markets

10.05.2022
#ZEWlive

War in Ukraine and the Economic Consequences

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has resulted in a severe humanitarian crisis. At the same time, the economic impact is enormous. We are pleased to welcome the U.S. Consul General in Frankfurt, Norman Thatcher Scharpf, on 10 May at 12:00 in a new edition of our digital series #ZEWlive. He will talk with ZEW President Achim Wambach about the challenges facing the European and global economy. The event will be held in English and moderated by journalist Jessica Sturmberg.

More information

ZEW’s job offers for researchers from Ukraine

Support for Ukraine

Below you will find a list of aid campaigns and useful information on how you can support those in need:

PR Contact

Head of the “Press and Editorial Office” team

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-132

Ruprecht.Hammerschmidt@zew.de

Der russische Angriff auf die Ukraine bringt Millionen Menschen furchtbares Leid. Viele Menschen fliehen. Die EU und die Bundesregierung haben ein massives Sanktionsprogramm für Russland aufgelegt. Das ZEW – Leibniz-Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung arbeitet zu den wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Krise und zur Migration und trägt damit zur öffentlichen Debatte bei. Die Ergebnisse stellen wir auf dieser Sonderseite zusammen.

Achim Wambach
ZEW-Präsident

Prof. Achim Wambach

Für Rückfragen stehe ich Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.
Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-100
Anfrage per E-Mail

Der Krieg zerstört viele Illusionen. Souveränität, internationale Zusammenarbeit und Versorgungssicherheit müssen neu gedacht werden. Zunächst muss aber alles dafür getan werden, dass die Kampfhandlungen ein Ende finden.

Kalter Krieg Reloaded

Kommentar

Die Resilienz von Arbeit in Zeiten des Krieges

In Folge des Kriegs in der Ukraine und der westlichen Sanktionen gegen Russland steigen die Energie- und Rohstoffpreise. Der tägliche Einkauf kostet mehr, die Ölrechnungen schnellen nach oben, ebenso wie die Inflationsprognosen. Unternehmen etwa der Chemie- und Logistikbranche, die direkt von den Preiserhöhungen bei Gas, Öl und anderen Rohstoffen betroffen sind, überarbeiten ihre Geschäftsmodelle. Zwar sinken die Arbeitskosten bei unerwartet höheren Inflationsraten und nominal konstanten Löhnen. Dies wirkt temporär stabilisierend. Auch wird mehr Arbeit in der Rüstungsindustrie, beim Sparen von Energie und bei alternativen Energien eingesetzt. Jedoch könnte die gesamtwirtschaftliche Güternachfrage zurückgehen. Denn auch die Menschen beginnen zu überlegen, welche Güter sie vorrangig benötigen, und auf welche sie eher verzichten können, sollten die Preissteigerungen andauern.

Weiterlesen

Kommentar

„Bundeswehr braucht mehr Zentralisierung und mehr Freiheiten bei der Beschaffung“

Die Koalition hat sich darauf verständigt, dass die Bundeswehr zur Erfüllung ihrer NATO- und gesetzlichen Aufgaben zügig modernisiert werden muss. Deshalb hat der Deutsche Bundestag zusätzliche Mittel in Höhe von 100 Mrd. Euro allein für die Beschaffung von Rüstungsgütern bereitgestellt. Verteidigungsministerin Christine Lambrecht hat dabei zwei Engpässe ausgemacht: EU-weite Ausschreibungspflichten sind zeitaufwändig und interne Beschaffungsprozesse zu bürokratisch. ZEW-Beschaffungsexperte Leonardo Maria Giuffrida, PhD, Leiter der ZEW-Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe Öffentliche Beschaffung erklärt, worauf sich die Bundeswehr konzentrieren sollte.

Weiterlesen

Migration und Gesellschaft

Forschung

Migrationsschub aus Russland zu erwarten

Mehr als 4,6 Millionen Menschen sind seit Kriegsbeginn aus der Ukraine geflohen. Als Folge der Invasion fliehen auch immer mehr Menschen aus Russland. Die Gründe dafür dürften in der eingeschränkten Meinungsfreiheit, Angst vor politischer Verfolgung oder vor Einzug zum Militärdienst sowie in der schlechten ökonomischen Perspektive liegen. Der Unterschied zwischen den derzeitigen russischen Migranten/-innen, die in die Nachbarländer auswandern, und den Geflüchteten aus der Ukraine besteht darin, dass die russische Auswanderungsgruppe überdurchschnittlich gut gebildet ist. Diese umfasst beispielsweise Spezialkräfte aus der IT-Branche und anderen kreativen Wirtschaftszweigen, die meist über Fremdsprachkenntnisse verfügen.

Weiterlesen

Forschung

Geflüchtete brauchen schnell psychologische Hilfe

Über zwei Millionen Menschen fliehen bisher vor Krieg und Gewalt aus der Ukraine, allen voran Frauen und Kinder. Sie haben Unvorstellbares im Krieg und auf der Flucht erlebt, deswegen benötigen sie neben medizinischer auch psychologische Hilfe nach der Aufnahme in Deutschland. ZEW-Forschende haben hierfür eine Übersicht auf Basis von Google Maps bereitgestellt, um schnell einen bestmöglichen Zugang zu psychologischer Betreuung zu ermöglichen.

Weiterlesen

Kommentar

ZEW-Ökonom Guido Neidhöfer: Integration gelingt mit Kitas besser

Europa zeigt sich im Ukraine-Krieg geschlossen und solidarisch mit den Flüchtenden. In Deutschland gelingt ihre Aufnahme schnell und unbürokratisch. Bei allen offenen Fragen ist jedoch nicht absehbar, wie lange sie Schutz bedürfen werden. Im Falle, dass sie nicht so bald in ihre zerstörte Heimat zurückkehren können, sind Strategien für eine erfolgreiche Integration notwendig. Studien des ZEW Mannheim belegen, dass die Integration noch kleiner Kinder besonders hilfreich für die der gesamten Familie sein kann.

Read more

Kommentar

Engagement verbessert die Lebenssituation von Geflüchteten

Mehr als eine Million Menschen aus der Ukraine befinden sich derzeit auf der Flucht gen Westen. Um sie mit dem Nötigsten zu versorgen, organisieren zahlreiche Ehrenamtliche in Osteuropa und Deutschland kurzfristig Hilfslieferungen und Unterkünfte. Die Rolle der Zivilgesellschaft bei der Unterstützung von Geflüchteten erklärt Paul Berbée, Wissenschaftler in der Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe „Integration von Migranten/-innen und Einstellungen zum Sozialstaat“.

Weiterlesen

Neuausrichtung der Energiewende

Streitgespräch

Energieembargo gegen Russland

Lieferstopp für russische Energie als Sanktion – kann sich Deutschland das leisten? Hierzu diskutieren der Bonner Ökonom Prof. Dr. Moritz Schularick und ZEW-Präsident Prof. Achim Wambach, PhD, im Handelsblatt (ein Auszug aus dem Handelsblatt-Interview vom 22. März 2022).

Weiterlesen

Unternehmen, Sanktionen und Kapitalmärkte

Forschung

Weniger Wirtschaftswachstum in Deutschland erwartet

Die deutsche Wirtschaft wächst schleppend – und das auch in den kommenden Jahren. Laut Einschätzung der vom ZEW Mannheim befragten Finanzmarktexperten/-innen werden niedrigere, aber stabile jährliche Wachstumsraten zwischen 2,0 und 2,5 Prozent für 2022 bis 2024 erwartet. Gründe für dieses gehemmte Wachstum sind Energiepreise, Rohstoffknappheit und Unterbrechungen in den Lieferketten, aber auch die neue geopolitische Lage, hervorgerufen durch den Krieg Russlands gegen die Ukraine. So revidieren die Experten/-innen ihre BIP-Prognosen für 2022, 2023 und darüber hinaus mehrheitlich nach unten. Einzelne Wirtschaftszweige sind dabei in Deutschland mit Blick auf die kommenden 5 Jahre unterschiedlich schwer von der geopolitischen Situation betroffen: Fahrzeugbau, Chemie/Pharma, Stahl/Nichteisen-Metalle und Maschinenbau dürfte es laut Experten/-innen am härtesten treffen.

Weiterlesen

Kommentar

„Wendepunkt für die Haushaltspolitik in Deutschland“

Die europäischen Staaten haben sich wegen des russischen Vorgehens in der Ukraine auf ein ganzes Bündel an Sanktionen geeinigt. Welche fiskalischen Folgen der Ukraine-Krieg birgt, erläutert Prof. Dr. Friedrich Heinemann, Leiter des Forschungsbereichs „Unternehmensbesteuerung und Öffentliche Finanzwirtschaft“ am ZEW Mannheim.

Weiterlesen

Kommentar

„Russland-Aktiva und der Rubel sind jetzt Ramsch geworden“

Der Rubel ist auf ein Rekordtief infolge westlicher Sanktionen gerutscht. Die russische Zentralbank reagiert mit einer drastischen Zinserhöhung. Der Leitzins steigt von 9,5 auf 20 Prozent. Prof. Dr. Friedrich Heinemann, Leiter des Forschungsbereichs „Unternehmensbesteuerung und Öffentliche Finanzwirtschaft“ am ZEW Mannheim, kommentiert dies.

Weiterlesen

Fokus auf Baden-Württemberg

In Kürze finden Sie hier aktuelle Forschung.

Unsere Expertinnen und Experten am ZEW

Themen

Energieversorgung, wirtschaftliche Entwicklung, Gesundheitsversorgung

Themen

Schulden, Finanzpolitik, Remittances, Eurasische Zollunion, Wiederaufbau, Spenden

Themen

Cybersicherheit, Digitale Souveränität

Themen

Öffentliche Beschaffung, Wohnraumvermittlung für Flüchtlinge

Themen

Gesamtwirtschaftliche Folgen des Krieges, Inflation, Europäische Verteidigungspolitik, Verteidigungskosten, Verschuldung/Schuldenbremse

Themen

Bildung, Kinderbetreuung

Themen

Strommarkt

Themen

Gesundheitsversorgung

Themen

ZEW-Finanzmarkttest, Konjunktur, Finanzmärkte

Themen

Zuwanderung, Integration

10.05.2022
#ZEWlive

War in Ukraine and the Economic Consequences

Der Einmarsch Russlands in die Ukraine hat zu einer schweren humanitären Krise geführt. Gleichzeitig sind die  wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen enorm. Wir freuen uns, am 10. Mai um 12:00 Uhr den amerikanischen Generalkonsul in Frankfurt, Norman Thatcher Scharpf, in einer neuen Ausgabe unserer digitalen Reihe #ZEWlive zu begrüßen. Er wird mit ZEW-Präsident Achim Wambach über die Herausforderungen für die europäische und die globale Wirtschaft sprechen. Die englischsprachige Veranstaltung wird von der Journalistin Jessica Sturmberg moderiert.

Weitere Informationen

ZEW-Stellenangebote für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus der Ukraine

Informationen zur Karriere am ZEW

Hilfe für die Ukraine

An dieser Stelle möchten wir auf Hilfsaktionen und nützliche Informationen aufmerksam machen, welche die Menschen in Not unterstützen:

PR-Kontakt

Teamleitung Presse und Redaktion

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-132

Ruprecht.Hammerschmidt@zew.de