Dr. Jesper Riedler studied industrial engineering at the Technical University of Darmstadt. In 2017 he received his doctorate degree in economics from Justus Liebig University in Giessen. In his dissertation, he developed agent-based models to study financial market stability and the impact of financial regulation. After receiving his doctorate he spent a year as a postdoctoral research fellow at the African Institute of Financial Markets and Risk Management at the University of Cape Town in South Africa.

Jesper Riedler joined ZEW's Research Department “International Finance and Financial Management” in 2011. His research interests include financial intermediation, financial market stability and bank regulation. He is also interested in how unconventional monetary policy affects capital markets, banks and firms. Furthermore, he works on applications of artificial intelligence methods to economic theory.

Since 2013 Jesper Riedler has been part of the team managing the ZEW Financial Market Survey. The survey is conducted on a monthly basis amongst financial market experts and produces one of the most important leading economic development indicators for Germany, also known as ZEW Indicator of Economic Sentiment or ZEW Index.

Selected Publications

More Information

  • Referee-Reports for Scientific Journals, Public Trusts etc.

Dr. Jesper Riedler studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurswesen an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. 2017 wurde er an der Justus Liebig Universität Gießen im Fach Volkswirtschaftslehre promoviert. In seiner Doktorarbeit befasste er sich mit der Modellierung des Finanzsektors als komplexes System zur Untersuchung von Finanzmarktstabilität und -regulierung. Im Anschluss an seine Promotion ging er als Postdoctoral Research Fellow für ein Jahr an das African Institute of Financial Markets and Risk Management der University of Cape Town nach Südafrika.

Seit März 2011 arbeitet Dr. Riedler als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im ZEW-Forschungsbereich „Internationale Finanzmärkte und Finanzmanagement“. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Finanzmarktstabilität und -regulierung sowie die wechselseitige Beziehung zwischen Finanzsektor und Realwirtschaft. Außerdem forscht er zu den Auswirkungen unkonventioneller Geldpolitik auf Kapitalmärkte, Banken und Unternehmen. Ein weiteres Forschungsinteresse gilt dem Einsatz von Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz in der Wirtschaftstheorie.

Seit 2013 betreut Jesper Riedler den ZEW-Finanzmarkttest, eine monatlich durchgeführte Umfrage unter Finanzmarktexperten/-innen aus der einer der wichtigsten Frühindikatoren für die konjunkturelle Entwicklung in Deutschland hervorgeht, die ZEW-Konjunkturerwartungen bzw. der ZEW-Index.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Projekte

Weitere Informationen

  • Referee-Reports für wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften, Stiftungen etc.

LLL:Image Jesper Riedler
Funktion

Researcher

jesper.riedler@zew.de

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-311

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-223