Dr. Sarra Ben Yahmed

Dr. Sarra Ben Yahmed

Labour Markets and Social Insurance

Sarra Ben Yahmed joined ZEW in September 2014. She is an Advanced Researcher in ZEW’s Research Unit “Labour Markets and Social Insurance” and coordinates the research area “Integration into Labour Markets”.

Her research covers the fields of labour economics, international trade, and development economics. Combining both empirical and theoretical analysis, she has explored different mechanisms through which international trade affects gender wage inequality. She has also addressed questions related to informal employment and gender differences in labour outcomes. More recently, she started to investigate how digitalisation and new work arrangements such as working-from-home affect employment and wage inequality in the labour market.

Sarra Ben Yahmed studied economics at the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan, the University Carlos III Madrid, and the University Paris 1 – Paris School of Economics. After graduating, she worked as an intern at the OECD. She holds a PhD from Aix-Marseille University and received the university’s 2013 PhD Thesis Prize. Prior joining ZEW, Sarra Ben Yahmed worked at the Department of Economics of Sciences Po Paris.

Contact information

Sarra Ben Yahmed

Dr. Sarra Ben Yahmed

Senior Researcher +49 (0)621 1235-289 Sarra.BenYahmed@zew.de
Unit: Labour Markets and Social Insurance

Selected Publications

More Information

Sarra Ben Yahmed ist seit September 2014 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiterin am ZEW im Forschungsbereich „Arbeitsmärkte und Personalmanagement“. Sie koordiniert den Forschungsschwerpunkt „Integration in Arbeitsmärkte“.

Sie forscht auf den Gebieten internationaler Handel, Arbeitsmarktökonomik und Entwicklungsökonomik. In empirischen als auch theoretischen Studien analysiert sie Mechanismen, durch die sich internationaler Handel auf geschlechtsspezifische Lohnunterschiede auswirkt. Darüber hinaus untersucht sie Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit informeller Beschäftigung und Geschlechtsunterschieden in Arbeitsmärkten. Neuerdings befasst sie sich mit dem Einfluss von Digitalisierung und neuen Arbeitsregelungen, wie zum Beispiel Home-Office, auf geschlechtsspezifische Unterschiede in Arbeitsmärkten.

Sara Ben Yahmed studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre an der „Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan“, der Universität Carlos III Madrid und an der Universität Paris 1 – „Paris School of Economics“. Nach ihrem Abschluss absolvierte sie ein Praktikum bei der OECD. Im Jahr 2013 schloss sie ihre Promotion mit Auszeichnung an der Universität Aix-Marseille ab. Sarra Ben Yahmed war vor ihrer Arbeit am ZEW an der volkswirtschaftlichen Fakultät der Sciences Po Paris tätig.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Weitere Informationen

  • Organisation von wissenschaftlichen Tagungen & Workshops

LLL:Image Sarra Ben Yahmed
Funktion

Advanced Researcher

sarra.benyahmed@zew.de

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-289

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-225

Preise, Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen