Professor Sebastian Rausch has been the head of the ZEW Research Department “Environmental and Resource Economics, Environmental Management” since August 2020. He holds a professorship in economics (with a focus on environmental, energy, and resource economics) at Heidelberg University, where he is also co-director of the Research Center for Environmental Economics (RCEE). He is a research associate at the Centre for Energy Policy and Economics at ETH Zurich and the Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), as well as a member of the Committee on Environmental and Resource Economics of the German Economic Association (VfS).

Prior to joining ZEW, Rausch was an assistant professor at ETH Zurich and director of the U.S. Regional Energy & Environment Modeling Project at MIT, after being a research scientist and postdoctoral associate at the MIT Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change and the MIT Energy Initiative. Rausch studied economics at the University of Bonn and received his doctorate in economics from the Ruhr Graduate School in Economics and the University of Duisburg-Essen. He received a doctoral scholarship from the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation and was awarded a science prize for his doctoral work.

In his research, Sebastian Rausch focuses on the evaluation of economic policy measures and the design of emissions and energy markets to mitigate climate change and design sustainable energy systems. Rausch conducts research at the interface of environmental and energy economics, public economics, and computational economics, with interdisciplinary links to technology-oriented energy system analysis and environmental sciences. His work has been published in the Journal of Public Economics, European Economic Review, American Economic Review P&P, and Nature Climate Change, among others.

Further information about Prof. Dr. Sebastian Rausch

Selected Publications

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Rausch leitet seit August 2020 den ZEW-Forschungsbereich „Umwelt- und Ressourcenökonomik, Umweltmanagement“. Er hat eine Professur für Volkswirtschaftslehre (mit dem Schwerpunkt Umwelt-, Energie- und Ressourcenökonomik) an der Universität Heidelberg und ist dort zudem Ko-Direktor am Forschungszentrum für Umweltökonomik (FZU). Er ist Research Associate am Centre for Energy Policy and Economics der ETH Zürich und am Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change des Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) sowie Mitglied des Ausschusses für Umwelt- und Ressourcenökonomik des Vereins für Socialpolitik.

Vor seinem Wechsel an das ZEW war Rausch Assistenzprofessor an der ETH Zürich und Direktor des U.S. Regional Energy & Environment Modeling Project am MIT, nachdem er als Research Scientist und Postdoctoral Associate am MIT Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change und der MIT Energy Initiative gearbeitet hatte. Rausch studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Bonn und an der Ruhr Graduate School in Economics und der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Er erhielt ein Promotionsstipendium der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung und wurde für seine Doktorarbeit mit einem Wissenschaftspreis ausgezeichnet.

In seiner Forschung beschäftigt sich Sebastian Rausch unter anderem mit der Bewertung von wirtschaftspolitischen Maßnahmen und dem Design von Emissions- und Energiemärkten zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels und der Gestaltung nachhaltiger Energiewirtschaftssysteme. Rauschs Forschung liegt an der Schnittstelle von Umwelt- und Energieökonomik, Finanzwissenschaften und Computational Economics, mit interdisziplinären Verbindungen zur technologieorientierten Energiesystemanalyse und den Umweltwissenschaften. Seine Studien hat Rausch unter anderem im Journal of Public Economics, European Economic Review, American Economic Review P&P und Nature Climate Change veröffentlicht.

Weitere Informationen zu Prof. Dr. Sebastian Rausch

Ausgewählte Publikationen

LLL:Image Sebastian Rausch
Funktion

Leitung

sebastian.rausch@zew.de

Tel.: +49(0)621 1235-200

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-226