Florian Englmaier is a full professor of organizational economics at the University of Munich (LMU). His main research interests lie in the fields of the economics of organizations and human resources, where he focuses on agency problems in organizations.

He studied economics at the LMU, where he received his PhD (summa cum laude) in 2005. Since 2013 he has been a full professor of organizational economics at the LMU. He also serves as director of the Munich Graduate School of Economics (MGSE); as co-director of the international graduate programme “Evidence Based Economics”; as principal investigator in the Collaborative Research Center Transregio 190 “Rationality and Competition” and in the GRK 1928 “Microdeterminants of Labor Productivity”; as deputy chairman of the Committee of Organizational Economics at the German Economic Association (VfS); and as founding director of the lecture series on the Economics of Organizations and Human Resources (LEOH).

Previously, he held chairs in organizational economics at the universities of Konstanz and Würzburg, as well as positions as an assistant professor at the LMU, and as a postdoc at Harvard University (joint appointment of the Economics Department and Harvard Business School) and University College London (ELSE). He was also a visiting scholar at the Stanford Graduate School of Business and the Kellogg School of Management.

In his research, Florian seeks to combine the merits of careful theoretical modelling with sound empirical strategies aimed at uncovering causal relationships. His studies have contributed, among other things, to the research in behavioural contracting, relational contracts, team organization and performance, the political economy of state-controlled enterprises, and efficiency of internet auction markets.

Department

Market Design

Function

Research Associate

Florian Englmaier ist ordentlicher Professor für Organisationsökonomie an der Universität München (LMU). Sein Hauptforschungsinteresse liegt in den Bereichen Ökonomie von Unternehmen und Personalwesen, wo er sich auf Agency-Probleme innerhalb von Unternehmen konzentriert.

Er studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität München und promovierte 2005 in Wirtschaftswissenschaften (summa cum laude). Seit Herbst 2013 ist er ordentlicher Professor für Organisationsökonomie an der Universität München (LMU) und fungiert auch als Direktor der Munich Graduate School of Economics (MGSE), als Co-Direktor des International Graduate Program „Evidence Based Economics“, als PI des CRC/TRR-190 „Rationalität und Wettbewerb“, als PI des GRK1928 "Mikrodeterminanten der Arbeitsproduktivität", als stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für Organisationsökonomie im Verband der Deutschen Wirtschaft und als Gründungsdirektor der Ringvorlesung in der Ökonomie von Unternehmen und Humanressourcen (LEOH).

Vor seiner jetzigen Tätigkeit hatte er Lehrstühle für Organisationsökonomie an den Universitäten Konstanz und Würzburg, eine Assistenzprofessur an der Universität München, eine PostDoc-Stelle in Harvard (gemeinsame Ernennung von Economics Department und HBS), eine PostDoc-Stelle am University College London (ELSE) und war Gastwissenschaftler an der Stanford GSB und der Kellogg School of Management.

In seinen Forschungen ist Florian Englmaier bestrebt, die Vorteile einer sorgfältigen theoretischen Modellierung mit fundierten empirischen Strategien zu kombinieren, die darauf abzielen, kausale Zusammenhänge aufzudecken. Seine Studien haben unter anderem zur Erforschung von Verhaltensvereinbarungen, relationalen Verträgen, Teamorganisation und Leistung, der politischen Ökonomie staatlich kontrollierter Unternehmen und der Effizienz von

Internetauktionsmärkten beigetragen.

Funktion

Research Associate