Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi

Pensions and Sustainable Financial Markets

Professor Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi holds the Chair of Corporate Governance at the University of Mannheim and is a ZEW Research Associate in the ZEW Research Unit “Pensions and Sustainable Financial Markets". Her research interests lie in the area of empirical financial market research with a special focus on gender differences on capital markets.

Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi’s research has been published in top international journals such as the Journal of Financial Economics and the Review of Financial Studies, and has received several awards such as the Rothschild Cesarea IDC Award and the New York Stock Exchange SABE Award.

Professor Niessen-Ruenzi studied business administration at the University of Cologne. Following her doctorate, she was a visiting scholar at various foreign institutions such as the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, the McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin, and the Haas School of Business, University of California at Berkeley. She was appointed to an assistant professorship at the Finance Area of the University of Mannheim in 2009. In 2012, she took over the Chair of Corporate Governance at the University of Mannheim.

Professor Niessen-Ruenzi is a Research Fellow at the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI) and at the Office for Empirical Research on Social Economics in Cologne. She is also the academic director of the Berlin Center of Corporate Governance at the Mannheim Business School.

Contact information

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi

Research Associate
Unit: Pensions and Sustainable Financial Markets

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi

Altersvorsorge und nachhaltige Finanzmärkte

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi ist Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Allgemeine Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Corporate Governance an der Universität Mannheim und ZEW Research Associate im ZEW-Forschungsbereich „Altersvorsorge und Nachhaltige Finanzmärkte“. Ihre Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der empirischen Finanzmarktforschung mit einem besonderen Fokus auf der Erforschung geschlechtsspezifischer Unterschiede auf Kapitalmärkten.

Die Forschungsergebnisse von Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi sind in den besten internationalen Fachzeitschriften wie dem Journal of Financial Economics und dem Review of Financial Studies publiziert und wurden mit mehreren Preisen wie dem Rothschild Cesarea IDC Award und dem SABE Award der New York Stock Exchange ausgezeichnet.

Prof. Niessen-Ruenzi studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität zu Köln. Im Anschluss an ihre Promotion war sie Gastwissenschaftlerin an verschiedenen ausländischen Institutionen wie der Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, der McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin, und der Haas School of Business, University of California at Berkeley. Sie wurde im Jahr 2009 auf eine Juniorprofessur an die Finance Area der Universität Mannheim berufen. Im Jahr 2012 übernahm sie den Lehrstuhl für Corporate Governance an der Universität Mannheim.

Prof. Niessen-Ruenzi ist Research Fellow am European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI) und an der Forschungsstelle für empirische Sozialökonomik in Köln. Sie ist zudem akademische Direktorin des Berlin Center of Corporate Governance an der Mannheim Business School.

Kontaktdaten

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi

Research Associate
Bereich: Altersvorsorge und nachhaltige Finanzmärkte