The EU Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS) is the first large-scale multi-national greenhouse gas (GHG) trading program and a central instrument of European climate policy. The EU ETS market is still young, but growing rapidly. In the last two years, the average daily trading volume at the ECX has increased enormously, from 4 million tCO2 (2007) to 20 million tCO2 (March 2009). From over 11.000 installations covered by the EU ETS, 1.660 are located in Germany being responsible for almost 50 % of national green house gases. One third of the installations under the trading scheme belong to energy intensive industry sectors and two thirds to the energy sector. Compared to 499 million tCO2 in the years 2005 - 2007 the total number of allowances to be issued within the second trading period has been reduced to 452 million tCO2 annually. With this tighter emissions cap, the relevance of the carbon market for the covered firms can be expected to increase. Despite its high importance for both market participants and stakeholders, the data basis concerning developments and expectations in supply and demand as well as prices of emission allowances and emission reduction certificates is still lagging behind. The KfW/ZEW CO2 Barometer – a survey among German firms covered by the EU ETS and international carbon experts developed in cooperation between KfW Bankengruppe and the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) – intends to close this gap.

Detken, Annette, Andreas Löschel, Victoria Alexeeva-Talebi, Peter Heindl, Vivien Lo and Marianne Strunz (2009), KfW/ZEW CO2 Barometer 2009, Leaving the Trial Phase behind – Preferences & Strategies of German Companies under the EU ETS, KfW Bankengruppe, Frankfurt am Main. Download

Category

Expertises

Authors

Detken, Annette
Löschel, Andreas
Alexeeva-Talebi, Victoria
Heindl, Peter
Lo, Vivien
Strunz, Marianne

Keywords

CO2 Handel Emissionshandel EUA CER european emission trading scheme eu-ets co2-barometer co2-panel co2-index kfw/zew co2-indikator cdm clean development mechanism unfccc emission allowances zertifikatehandel

Das Emissionshandelssystem der EU (EU ETS) ist das erste großangelegte, Länderübergreifende Handelsprogramm für Treibhausgase und ein zentrales Instrument der europäischen Klimapolitik. Der EU ETS Markt ist noch jung, zeigt aber ein dynamisches Wachstum. Innerhalb von zwei Jahren verfünffachte sich das tägliche Handelsvolumen an der ECX (2007:4 Mio. tCO2, März 2009: 20 Mio. tCO2). Von den insgesamt über 11.000 emissionspflichtigen Anlagen innerhalb des EU ETS entfielen 2008 1.660 auf Deutschland. Diese Anlagen, die zu einem Drittel der energieintensiven Industrie und zwei Drittel der Energiewirtschaft zugerechnet werden, sind für knapp 50 % der Treibhausgase in Deutschland verantwortlich. Mit einem Gesamtbudget von 452 Mio. tCO2 pro Jahr wurde die Zuteilungsmenge in der zweiten Handelsperiode im Vergleich zu den Jahren 2005-2007 (499 Mio. tCO2) gekürzt. Mit dieser Verknappung der zugeteilten Emissionszertifikate ist eine steigende Bedeutung des Kohlenstoffmarktes für die beteiligten Unternehmen zu erwarten. Die vorhandene Datenbasis bezüglich der Entwicklung und den Erwartungen von Angebot, Nachfrage sowie von Preisen für Emissionszertifikate und -gutschriften ist allerdings noch sehr lückenhaft. Dieses Informationsdefizit soll durch die Befragung deutscher emissionshandelspflichtiger Unternehmen und internationaler CO2-Handelsexperten im KfW/ZEW CO2 Barometer, das in Kooperation zwischen der KfW Bankengruppe und dem Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW) entwickelt wurde, abgebaut werden.

Detken, Annette, Andreas Löschel, Victoria Alexeeva-Talebi, Peter Heindl, Vivien Lo und Marianne Strunz (2009), KfW/ZEW CO2 Barometer 2009, Leaving the Trial Phase behind – Preferences & Strategies of German Companies under the EU ETS, KfW Bankengruppe, Frankfurt am Main. Download

Kategorie

Gutachten

Autoren

Detken, Annette
Löschel, Andreas
Alexeeva-Talebi, Victoria
Heindl, Peter
Lo, Vivien
Strunz, Marianne

Schlagworte

CO2 Handel Emissionshandel EUA CER european emission trading scheme eu-ets co2-barometer co2-panel co2-index kfw/zew co2-indikator cdm clean development mechanism unfccc emission allowances zertifikatehandel