Centre for European Economic Research

Go directly to:

Logo ZEW [ D]

Suche überspringen


Skip Main Navigation

Main Navigation

Skip Content Area

Content Area


5th ZEW/MaCCI Conference on the Economics of Innovation and Patenting


The Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) and the Mannheim Centre for Competition and Innovation (MaCCI) are pleased to announce their conference on the economics of innovation and patenting. We aim at stimulating discussion between international researchers conducting related empirical, and theoretical analysis. In addition, the conference will focus on policy implications of recent research. Theoretical, empirical and policy-oriented contributions from all areas of the economics of innovation and patenting are welcome. The conference is sponsored by the Fritz Thyssen Foundation.

A non-exhaustive list of topics is:

Innovation and Firm Performance

  • Returns to R&D and innovation
  • Corporate governance of innovative firms
  • R&D in young and small firms

Financing of Innovation

  • Public vs. private funding of innovation
  • Sources of finance: banks, venture, capitalists, business angels and crowd funding

Generation of Knowledge and Innovation

  • Sources of knowledge and R&D spillovers
  • Science-industry linkages
  • Role of inventors

Markets for Technology

  • Trade of patents and technology
  • Licensing strategies and policies

Globalisation and Innovation

  • Internationalisation of R&D processes
  • International diffusion of innovation
  • Externalities and technology adoption
  • Innovation in emerging countries

Intellectual Property Rights

  • IPR strategies (patents, trademarks, copyrights)
  • Reform of the international patent system
  • Standards and innovation
  • Open innovation and IPRs
  • Impact of IPR on competition

R&D and Innovation Policy

  • Economics of public research institutions
  • Tax incentives and subsidies for R&D
  • Public procurement and innovation


03.06.2013 - 04.06.2013

Location of the Event

ZEW, L 7,1 D-68161 Mannheim

Additional Information

Keynote Lectures

  • Diego COMIN (Harvard Business School, Boston, US)
  • Dietmar HARHOFF (Max Planck Campus for Legal and Economic Research and LMU, Munich, DE)
  • Xielin LIU (Graduate University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, CN)
  • Mark ROBERTS (Pennsylvania State, University Park, US)
  • Brian WRIGHT (University of California, Berkeley, US)


  • Engelbert Beyer (Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Berlin, DE)
  • Dominique FORAY (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, CH)
  • Stuart GRAHAM (US Patent and Trademark Office, Alexandria, US)
  • Jochen MAAS (Sanofi-Aventis, Vice President R&D Europe and Head R&D Germany, Frankfurt, DE)


Programme, (as PDF, 216 KB)

Picture Gallery

Picture gallery of the event

Call for Papers

Download Call for Papers (as PDF, 1,57 MB)


Interested researchers are invited to submit a paper or an extended abstract (min. 3 pages) in PDF format to innopat2013@zew.de no later than March 1, 2013.

Dates and Deadlines

Submission deadline: March 1, 2013. Notifications on acceptance by April 5, 2013. Participants presenting a paper are asked to submit a full text version no later than May 3, 2013.
Registration deadline: May 24, 2013.


Please register for the conference on our electronic registration form: http://de.amiando.com/INNOPPayingAtt

Conference Fee

The conference fee is EUR 175. The conference fee covers lunches, coffee and non-alcoholic beverages, the conference dinner, and the conference package. For participants who present a paper local accommodation (two nights) will be covered. In addition, a selected number of travel grants will be available (preferably for PhD students). More information is available from the organising committee.
Presenters may be kindly asked to discuss another paper.

Scientific Committee

  • Reiko AOKI (Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo, JP)
  • Uwe CANTNER (University of Jena, DE)
  • Michele CINCERA (ULB Brussels, BE)
  • Dirk CZARNITZKI (KU Leuven, BE, and ZEW, Mannheim, DE)
  • Jeffrey FURMAN (Boston University, US)
  • Brent GOLDFARB (University of Maryland, College Park, US)
  • Georg von GRAEVENITZ (University of East Anglia, London, UK)
  • Jordi JAUMANDREU (Boston University, US)
  • Paul JENSEN (Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research, AU)
  • Ulrich KAISER (University of Zurich, CH, and ZEW, Mannheim, DE)
  • Jackie KRAFFT (CNRS-GREDEG, Valbonne, FR)
  • Kornelius KRAFT (University of Dortmund, and ZEW, Mannheim, DE)
  • Saul LACH (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, IL)
  • Aija LEIPONEN (Cornell University, Ithaka, US)
  • Georg LICHT (ZEW, and MaCCI, Mannheim, DE)
  • Hans LÖÖF (KTH Stockholm, SE)
  • Jacques MAIRESSE (University of Maastricht and UNU-MERIT, NL, and CREST, Paris, FR)
  • Pierre MOHNEN (University of Maastricht and UNU-MERIT, NL )
  • Fabio MONTOBBIO (University of Torino, and Bocconi University, IT)
  • Kazu MOTOHASHI (University of Tokyo, JP)
  • Bettina PETERS (ZEW, MaCCI, Mannheim, DE, and University of Zurich, CH)
  • Thomas ROENDE (Copenhagen Business School, DK, and ZEW, Mannheim, DE)
  • Enrico SANTARELLI (University of Bologna, IT)
  • Konrad STAHL (University of Mannheim, MaCCI, and ZEW, Mannheim, DE)
  • Reinhilde VEUGELERS (KU Leuven, and Bruegel, Brussels, BE)

Contact Persons


Back to top