Intention and Programme

Every year the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) organises a Summer Workshop for young economists. The Workshop focuses on current research in the fields of empirical economics. The topic of the Workshop changes every year.

The Workshop aims at promoting research activities of young economists in- and outside Europe by giving them the chance to receive a feedback on their current work from experienced academics established in the respective field and also from each other. The participants also learn much about recent developments in the field of research which is the central issue of the current Workshop. Moreover, they get the opportunity to establish permanent contacts with other researchers, especially inside the ZEW.

The programme of the Workshop is arranged according to this aim. It consists of two parts:

  • A core workshop of three days in which experienced researchers give survey lectures, young scholars present their work, act as discussants of others' papers and participate in general discussions.
  • The possibility of an extended research visit of two weeks, allowing young economists to initiate or continue joint work with researchers from the ZEW. This cooperation may relate to research currently done at the ZEW.

Contact

Head Event Management

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-261

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-4261

floersch@zew.de

Conference Management

Phone: +49 0621 1235-123

Fax: +49 0621 1235-125

stieber@zew.de

Conference Management

Phone: +49 0621 1235-124

Fax: +49 0621 1235-125

ochs@zew.de

Zielsetzung und Programm

Jedes Jahr organisiert das Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW) einen Summer Workshop für junge Wirtschaftswissenschaftler/innen. Der Workshop konzentriert sich auf aktuelle Forschungsprojekte im Bereich der empirischen Wirtschaftsforschung. Das Thema der Veranstaltung ändert sich jährlich.

Der Workshop hat das Ziel, Forschungsarbeiten von jungen Wirtschaftswissenschaftlern/-innen aus Europa und über die europäischen Grenzen hinaus zu unterstützen. So können sie Feedback für ihre aktuelle Arbeit sowohl von erfahrenen und auf dem jeweiligen Gebiet etablierten Wissenschaftlern/-innen, sowie von den anderen Teilnehmenden einholen. Außerdem erfahren die Teilnehmer/innen viel über die neuesten Entwicklungen im Bereich der Forschung, dem diesjährigen Hauptthema des Workshops. Des Weiteren gibt der Workshop ihnen die Möglichkeit langfristige Kontakte mit anderen Forschern/-innen zu knüpfen, insbesondere innerhalb des ZEW.

Das Programm des Workshops ist nach diesem Ziel konzipiert. Er besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • Einem dreitägigen Hauptworkshop, in dem rennomierte Forscher/innen Vorträge über ihre Studien halten. Außerdem stellen junge Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen ihre Arbeiten vor, führen Diskussionen über die Arbeit anderer und nehmen an allgemeinen Diskussionen teil.
  • Der Möglichkeit eines erweiterten zweiwöchigen Forschungsbesuchs, der es jungen Wirtschaftswissenschaftlern/-innen ermöglichen soll, eine gemeinsame Arbeitsgrundlage mit Forschern/-innen des ZEW in die Wege zu leiten oder fortzusetzen. Diese Zusammenarbeit kann mit aktuellen Forschungsthemen des ZEW in Verbindung stehen.

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Kontakt

Konferenzmanagement

Tel.: +49 0621 1235-123

Fax: +49 0621 1235-125

ramona.stieber@zew.de

Konferenzmanagement

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-124

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-125

raissa.engelhard@zew.de