New technologies such as mobile devices and mobile internet are increasingly challenging the concepts of a fixed workplace and regular working hours. The objective of the conference is to discuss recent scientific contributions on the causes and effects of this development. The conference takes an interdisciplinary approach to this topic and aims to bring together researchers from the fields of economics, management, occupational medicine, psychology, and sociology.

Topics of interest:

  • Incidence, types and drivers of flexible work
  • Behavioural, cognitive, economic, health, organisational, and psychological effects of flexible work, location-independent work and mobile work devices
  • Psychological detachment, recovery from work, boundary management and work-life balance

Programme

Programme (as PDF, 108 KB)

Call for Papers

Call for Papers (as PDF, 170 KB)

Keynote Speaker

  • Ellen Kossek (Purdue University, Krannert School of Management, USA)
  • Sabine Sonnentag (University of Mannheim)

Scientific Commitee

  • Melanie Arntz (ZEW Mannheim)
  • Irene Bertschek (ZEW Mannheim)
  • Ulrike Cress (IWM Tübingen)
  • Thomas Kleinsorge (IfADo Dortmund)
  • Sabine Sonnentag (University of Mannheim)

Submissions

The deadline for submission of extended abstracts (1-2 pages) or working papers to ubiwork@zew.de is 15 January 2017. Please indicate whether you would like to present a poster. Acceptance decisions will be communicated at the beginning of February 2017.

Costs

Accommodation costs will be covered for participants presenting a paper or a poster. Participants who present a paper or a poster will, however, be required to pay a fee of EUR 75 covering workshop materials and catering. All other participants will be required to pay a fee of EUR 100. Presenters may apply for financial support from the organisers to cover travel expenses after notification of acceptance. Participants who are not presenting a paper or a poster are requested to register by e-mail to ubiwork@zew.de no later than 28 February 2017.

Date

23. - 24.03.2017

Event Location
ZEW, L 7,1 D-68161 Mannheim
Categories

Neue Technologien, wie mobile Endgeräte und mobiles Internet, ermöglichen zunehmend die Arbeit außerhalb der klassischen Arbeitsstätte und außerhalb der regulären Arbeitszeiten. Im Rahmen der englischsprachigen Konferenz sollen aktuelle wissenschaftliche Beiträge zu den Ursachen und Auswirkungen dieser Entwicklung diskutiert werden. Dabei verfolgt die Konferenz einen interdisziplinären Ansatz. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, Wissenschaftler/innen aus den Bereichen der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Unternehmensführung, Arbeitsmedizin, Psychologie und Soziologie zusammenzubringen.

Themenschwerpunkte

  • Häufigkeit, Formen und Determinanten flexibler Arbeit
  • Verhaltensbezogene, kognitive, ökonomische, gesundheitliche, organisatorische und psychologische Effekte der flexiblen Arbeitsformen, des ortsunabhängigen Arbeitens, sowie mobiler digitaler Arbeitsgeräte
  • Psychologisches Detachment, Erholung von der Arbeit, Selbstmanagement und Work-Life-Balance

Programm

Programm in englischer Sprache (als PDF-Datei, 108 KB)

Call for Papers

Call for Papers in englischer Sprache (als PDF-Datei, 170 KB)

Hauptredner/-innen

  • Ellen Kossek (Purdue University, Krannert School of Management, USA)
  • Sabine Sonnentag (Universität Mannheim)

Wissenschaftliches Kommittee

  • Melanie Arntz (ZEW Mannheim)
  • Irene Bertschek (ZEW Mannheim)
  • Ulrike Cress (IWM Tübingen)
  • Thomas Kleinsorge (IfADo Dortmund)
  • Sabine Sonnentag (Universität Mannheim)

Einreichung von Präsentationen

Bitte senden Sie ein erweitertes Abstract (1-2 Seiten) oder ein vollständiges Papier bis spätestens 15. Januar 2017 an ubiwork@zew.de. Bitte geben Sie dabei an, ob es sich um einen Beitrag zur Poster-Session handelt. Die Teilnahmeentscheidung wird bis Anfang Februar 2017 bekannt gegeben.

Kosten

Die Kosten für die Unterkunft werden vom ZEW für vortragende Teilnehmer/innen übernommen. Um Arbeitsmaterialien und Verpflegung zu decken, fällt für vortragende Teilnehmer/innen jedoch eine ermäßigte Gebühr von 75 EUR an. Für nicht-vortragende Teilnehmer beträgt die Gebühr 100 EUR. Auf Antrag übernimmt das ZEW die Reisekosten für Teilnehmer/-innen, deren Beitrag angenommen wurde. Nicht-vortragende Teilnehmer/-innen müssen sich bis zum 28. Februar 2017 per E-Mail registrieren (ubiwork@zew.de).

Termin

23. - 24.03.2017

Veranstaltungsort
ZEW, L 7,1 D-68161 Mannheim
Kategorien