Maresa Sprietsma has been a researcher at ZEW’s Research Department „Labour Markets, Human Resources and Social Policy” since November 2006. She is the contact person of the Research Area „Education and Transition into the Labour Market“ and a member of the economics of education section of the German Economic Association.

Her research interests lie in the field of empirical education and labour market economics. In particular, her research focuses on the integration of young people into the labour market. This includes youth unemployment as well as transitions from secondary and tertiary education into the labour market. For instance, she investigated the determinants of heterogeneous returns to education and occupational orientation at the end of secondary school in recent projects. A further research topic is the evaluation of educational policies.

Maresa Sprietsma studied economics at Université Catholique de Louvain and the Katholieke Universität Leuven. After her graduation in 2000, she worked as a teaching and research assistant at the Université Catholique de Louvain. She finished her PhD on the topic of the economics of education in November 2007.

Selected Publications

Projects

More Information

  • Organisation of Academic Conferences and Workshops

  • Referee-Reports for Scientific Journals, Public Trusts etc.

  • Lectures

Maresa Sprietsma ist seit November 2006 im ZEW-Forschungsbereich „Arbeitsmärkte, Personalmanagement und Soziale Sicherung“ tätig. Sie ist Ansprechpartnerin des Forschungsschwerpunkts „Bildung und Erwerbseinstieg“ und Mitglied des Bildungsökonomischen Ausschusses im Verein für Socialpolitik.

Ihre Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der empirischen Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarktökonomik. Sie widmet sich insbesondere dem Thema der Integration von Jugendlichen in den Arbeitsmarkt. Dies beinhaltet sowohl Jugendarbeitslosigkeit als auch den Übergang von Sekundarschule und Hochschule auf den Arbeitsmarkt. In aktuellen Projekten untersuchte sie beispielsweise die Determinanten unterschiedlicher Bildungserträge für die Berufsorientierung am Ende der Sekundarstufe I. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sie sich mit der Evaluation von bildungspolitischen Maßnahmen.

Maresa Sprietsma studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Université Catholique de Louvain und der Katholieke Universität Leuven. Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums im Jahr 2000, arbeitete sie als Lehr- und Forschungsassistentin an der Université Catholique de Louvain. Im November 2007 schloss sie ihre Promotion zum Thema Bildungsökonomik ab.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Projekte

Weitere Informationen

  • Organisation von wissenschaftlichen Tagungen & Workshops

  • Referee-Reports für wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften, Stiftungen etc.

  • Vorträge