Dr. Michael Schröder is Senior Reseacher of the Research Department "International Finance and Financial Management" at the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW). He is also a Senior Research Consultant at the Financial Research Center of the Fudan University in Shanghai.

Schröder studied Economics and Business Administration at the University of Mannheim. He graduated as Diplom-Volkswirt (like M.A. in Economics). From 1985 to 1990 he was research fellow at the University of Mannheim. Since 1990 he holds a doctoral degree in Economics from the University of Mannheim and in 2009 he received the venia legendi for Business Administration at the University of Stuttgart after finishing his habilitation.

From 2011 to 2015 he was an Adjunct Professor of Asset Management at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management.

From 1990 to 1995 he worked at an international investment bank in Frankfurt/Main. As a senior economist in the department "Investment Research" he was responsible for the international economic outlook and the development of econometric models used to forecast and analyze capital markets and international business cycles. Since mid-1995 Schröder is a researcher at the ZEW.

His main topics of research in the field of empirical capital market analysis are: capital market regulation and its effects on financial stability and the real economy; analysis of the formation of expectations on financial markets; socially responsible investments, corporate social responsibility, and ethical banking; asset management of charitable foundations; capital markets in China.

Selected Publications

Projects

More Information

  • Teaching Activities and Stand-in Professors

  • Organisation of Academic Conferences and Workshops

  • Lectures

LLL:Image Michael Schröder
Function

Senior Researcher

schroeder@zew.de

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-368

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-223

Dr. Michael Schröder ist Senior Researcher des Forschungsbereichs "Internationale Finanzmärkte und Finanzmanagement" am Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW). Er ist außerdem Senior Research Consultant am Financial Research Center der Fudan-Universität in Shanghai.

Schröder studierte Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Mannheim. Nach seinem Abschluss als Diplom-Volkswirt war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität Mannheim und promovierte 1990 zum Dr. rer. pol. in Volkswirtschaftslehre, 2009 wurde er von der Universität Stuttgart habilitiert und erhielt die Venia Legendi für Betriebswirtschaftslehre.

Zwischen 2011 und 2015 war er außerplanmäßiger Professor für Asset Management an der Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Von 1990 bis 1995 arbeitete Schröder als Senior Economist bei einer internationalen Investmentbank in Frankfurt/Main im Bereich Investment Research. Seit Mitte 1995 ist er Wissenschaftler am ZEW.

Seine zentralen Forschungsgebiete im Bereich der empirischen Kapitalmarktanalyse sind Kapitalmarktmarktregulierung und ihre Effekte auf Finanzstabilität und Realwirtschaft; Erwartungsbildung auf Finanzmärkten; Nachhaltige Kapitalanlagen, sozial-ethisches Banking und Unternehmensnachhaltigkeit; Vermögensmanagement von Stiftungen; Kapitalmärkte in China.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Projekte

Weitere Informationen

  • Lehrtätigkeiten und Lehrstuhlvertretungen

  • Organisation von wissenschaftlichen Tagungen & Workshops

  • Vorträge

LLL:Image Michael Schröder
Funktion

Senior Researcher

schroeder@zew.de

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-368

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-223