Since January 2012, Prof. Dr. Kai Hüschelrath has been head of ZEW's Research Group "Competition and Regulation" and coordinator of the Leibniz ScienceCampus "Mannheim Centre for Competition and Innovation" (MaCCI). In October 2013, he joined the University of Mannheim as Professor of Economics, Competition Policy.

Kai Hüschelrath studied economics and management at the University of Würzburg. From 2001 to 2004 he was a research and teaching assistant of Jürgen Weigand at the Chair for Microeconomics and Industrial Organization at WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management in Vallendar. During that time, he spent several months as visiting scholar at the University of California at Berkeley and the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. After working as an economist in the London office of Frontier Economics for almost two years, he joined ZEW's Research Department "Industrial Economics and International Management" in October 2006, there he worked as researcher and later senior researcher until December 2011. From April 2009 until September 2013 he was also Assistant Professor of Industrial Organization and Competitive Strategy at WHU.

Kai Hüschelrath's research mainly concentrates on the entire field of industrial organisation with a particular focus on competitive strategy and competition policy. He has published in well-known field journals such as the Antitrust Bulletin, the Journal of Competition Law and Economics, the World Competition Law and Economics Review or the European Competition Journal. He also has substantial experience in advising both private companies and public authorities in competitive strategy and competition policy matters.

Selected Publications

Projects

More Information

  • Publishing Activities for Journals/Series

  • Organisation of Academic Conferences and Workshops

  • Statements/Contributions to Hearings

LLL:Image Kai Hüschelrath
Function

Head

hueschelrath@zew.de

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-384

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-170

Prof. Dr. Kai Hüschelrath ist seit Januar 2012 Leiter der ZEW-Forschungsgruppe "Wettbewerb und Regulierung" sowie Koordinator des Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus "Mannheim Centre for Competition and Innovation" (MaCCI). Seit Oktober 2013 ist er Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre, Wettbewerbspolitik an der Universität Mannheim.

Kai Hüschelrath studierte Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Würzburg. Von 2001 bis 2004 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter von Jürgen Weigand am Lehrstuhl für Mikroökonomik und Industrieökonomik der WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management in Vallendar. Während dieser Zeit verbrachte er einige Monate als Gastforscher an der University of California in Berkeley sowie der University of British Columbia in Vancouver. Im Anschluss an eine knapp zweijährige Tätigkeit als Ökonom im Londoner Büro von Frontier Economics arbeitete er von Oktober 2006 bis Dezember 2011 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und später Senior Researcher im Forschungsbereich "Industrieökonomik und Internationale Unternehmensführung" am ZEW. Von April 2009 bis September 2013 war er zudem Inhaber der Juniorprofessur für Industrieökonomik und Wettbewerbsstrategie an der WHU.

Die Forschungsinteressen von Kai Hüschelrath erstrecken sich auf den gesamten Bereich der Industrieökonomik mit einem Fokus auf wettbewerbsstrategischen und wettbewerbs-politischen Fragestellungen. Er hat in nahezu allen wettbewerbspolitischen Fachzeitschriften publiziert, darunter dem Antitrust Bulletin, dem Journal of Competition Law and Economics, dem World Competition Law and Economics Review oder dem European Competition Journal. Er verfügt darüber hinaus über umfassende Erfahrungen in der Beratung von sowohl privaten Unternehmen als auch staatlichen Behörden in Fragen der Wettbewerbsstrategie und Wettbewerbspolitik.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Projekte

Weitere Informationen

  • Herausgebertätigkeiten bei Zeitschriften/Reihen

  • Organisation von wissenschaftlichen Tagungen & Workshops

  • Stellungnahmen/Beiträge zu Anhörungen

LLL:Image Kai Hüschelrath
Funktion

Leitung

hueschelrath@zew.de

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-384

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-170