Eckhard Janeba is Professor of Economics at the University of Mannheim since 2004. Both in research and teaching his focus lies in the areas of Public Economics and International Trade. In particular he is interested in the effects of globalization on government fiscal policies. In this context he has made contributions to the literature on the theories of tax competition. More recently his work examines the role of political economy aspects in fiscal policy decision in open economies.

Professor Janeba’s academic career started with a Diploma degree in Economics from the University in Bonn (1990), followed by a Ph.D. at the same institution in 1994. The title of his thesis was International Tax Competition. From 1994-1999 he held an Assistant Professor position at Indiana University, Bloomington, USA, and then moved on to the University of Colorado at Boulder (1999-2004) where in the end he held a tenured Associate Professor position in Economics and International Affairs.

Professor Janeba has published widely in academic journals such as American Economic Review, European Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics, Journal of International Economics und Economic Journal. He is an associate editor for the journal International Tax and Public Finance and worked as associate editor for the second edition of the New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Eckhard Janeba is a member of various research networks and is active in policy consulting. He is a member of the Scientific Council of the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology, and a research associate with the CESifo network and the Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation. During his time in the US he was a faculty research fellow with the National Bureau of Economic Research (1999-2005).

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba is research associate at ZEW. He works in close cooperation with the research unit “Corporate Taxation and Public Finance”.

Research associates usually function as co-managers of research projects at ZEW. They also supervise dissertations of ZEW's employees and, in addition, get involved in creating or maintaining major ZEW research focuses.

Further information on Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba.

Projects

Function

Research Associate

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-142

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-215

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba ist seit 2004 Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Mannheim. Seine Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre befinden sich in den Bereichen Finanzwissenschaft und Außenhandel. Insbesondere beschäftigt sich Eckhard Janeba mit den Auswirkungen der Globalisierung auf staatliches Handeln. Er hat grundlegende Arbeiten zur Theorie des Steuerwettbewerbs geschrieben und interessiert sich in den letzten Jahren vor allem für polit-ökonomische Aspekte der Steuerpolitik in offenen Volkswirtschaften.

Die akademische Laufbahn von Prof. Janeba führt über den Abschluss als Diplom-Volkswirt an der Universität Bonn (1990) und der Promotion (Dr. rer. Pol.) zum Thema International Tax Competition an der gleichen Universität (1994) in die USA. Dort war er Assistent Professor an der Indiana University in Bloomington (1994-1999) und im Anschluss daran an der University of Colorado in Boulder (1999-2004) tätig, zuletzt als Associate Professor in Volkswirtschaftlehre und Internationale Beziehungen (mit Lebensstellung).

Prof. Janeba hat in vielen internationalen Zeitschriften publiziert, darunter in der American Economic Review, der European Economic Review, dem Journal of Public Economics, dem Journal of International Economics und dem Economic Journal. Er hat Herausgebertätigkeiten übernommen als Associate Editor bei der Zeitschrift International Tax and Public Finance und bei der zweiten Auflage vom New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Eckhard Janeba ist Mitglied in mehreren Forschungsnetzwerken und Beratergremien, darunter dem Wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums, dem CESifo Forschungsnetzwerk und dem Oxford University Center for Business Taxation. Während seiner Zeit in den USA war er auch Mitglied als Faculty Research Fellow im National Bureau of Economic Research (1999-2005).

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba ist Research Associate des ZEW. Er kooperiert besonders eng mit der Forschungseinheit “Unternehmensbesteuerung und Öffentliche Finanzwirtschaft“.

Research Associates arbeiten meist als Leiter eines Forschungsprojekts am ZEW mit und betreuen darüber hinaus Dissertationen von ZEW-Mitarbeitern. Sie engagieren sich beim Aufbau und/oder der intensiven Pflege eines Forschungsschwerpunktes am ZEW einschließlich der Einwerbung von Drittmitteln.

Weitere Informationen zu Prof. Dr. Eckhard Janeba.

Funktion

Research Associate

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-142

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-215