Dr. Andrew Toole is the Deputy Chief Economist at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and a Research Associate at the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW).

Dr. Toole joined the USPTO with experience in the private sector, academia, and government. While completing his PhD in economics at Michigan State University, Andrew Toole was a Senior Economist for Laurits R. Christensen Associates where he conducted studies on total factor productivity, cost and price analysis, and competitive strategy.

In 1998, Dr. Toole went to Stanford University as a postdoctoral student before becoming a faculty member at Illinois State University and Rutgers University in New Jersey. As an academic researcher, Dr. Toole was asked to advise on science and technology policy issues for institutions such as the U.S. National Academies of Science, U.S. National Institutes of Health, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

In 2010, he joined the Science Policy Branch of USDA’s Economic Research Service. His research focuses on the economics of innovation, intellectual property, and related science and technology policies. Dr. Toole has published in the Journal of Law and Economics, the Review of Economics and Statistics, Research Policy, Management Science, and many other peer-reviewed journals.

Further information on Prof. Andrew Toole, PhD

Selected Publications

Function

Research Associate

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-194

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-170

Dr. Andrew Toole ist stellvertretender Chefökonom des United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) und arbeitet als Research Associate am Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung (ZEW).

Vor seiner Zeit am USPTO hat Andrew Toole bereits Erfahrungen im Privatsektor sowie in wissenschaftlichen und politischen Institutionen gesammelt. Während seiner Promotion in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Michigan State University war Andrew Toole Senior Economist bei Laurits R. Christensen Associates, wo er Studien über totale Faktorproduktivität, Kosten-Preis-Analysen sowie Wettbewerbsstrategie durchführte.

1998 kam Dr. Toole als Postdoktorand an die Stanford University, bevor er als Fakultätsmitglied an der Illinois State University und der Rutgers University in New Jersey aufgenommen wurde. Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter beriet Dr. Toole Institutionen wie die U.S. National Academies of Science, die U.S. National Institutes of Health und das Landwirtschaftsministerium der Vereinigten Staaten (USDA) zu wissenschafts- und technologiepolitischen Fragen.

Seit 2010 ist er in der Abteilung Wissenschaftspolitik des wirtschaftlichen Forschungsdienstes des USDA tätig. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf den Themen Innovationsökonomik und geistiges Eigentum sowie damit verbundenen politischen Maßnahmen im Bereich Wissenschaft und Technologie. Dr. Toole veröffentlichte Beiträge im Journal of Law and Economics, Review of Economics and Statistics, Research Policy, Management Science und in zahlreichen anderen referierten Zeitschriften.

Weitere englischsprachige Informationen zu Prof. Andrew Toole, PhD.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

Funktion

Research Associate

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-194

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-170