Most minimum wage research focuses on the average employment effect that minimum wages exert on workers with a binding minimum wage, i.e. workers whose wage has to be raised in order to comply with the minimum wage level. However, depending on the production technology, the minimum wage may also affect workers for whom the minimum wage is not binding. The existing literature mainly discusses such employment spillovers as a potential source of bias.

This paper contributes to this sparse literature on employment spillovers on minimum wages by exploiting the minimum wage introduction and subsequent increases in the German roofing sector. With a ratio of the minimum wage level and the median of around 1 in Eastern Germany, the bite has to be considered exceptional even by international standards. Therefore, the German roofing sector serves as an ideal setting to study employment effects along the entire wage distribution. In particular, we look at the chances of remaining employed in the roofing sector for workers with and without a binding minimum wage and use the plumbing sector, which is not subject to a minimum wage, as a benchmark sector. By estimating the counterfactual wage plumbers would receive in the roofing sector given their characteristics, we are able to identify employment effects along the entire wage distribution.

The findings indicate that the chances of remaining employed in the roofing sector have deteriorated due to the minimum wage introduction, especially in Eastern Germany where the bite of the minimum wage was particularly hard. However, the impact suggested by comparing workers with and without a binding minimum wage appears to be underestimated in the intersectoral comparison, thus hinting at employment spillovers. Moreover, an intersectoral comparison suggests negative employment outcomes for East German workers along the entire wage distribution. According to personal interviews with sector insiders, capital-labour substitution rather than scale effects drive this finding.

These findings on the impact of the minimum wage regulations on the chances of continued employment should not, however, be equated with the overall minimum wage impact since, for instance, single-person companies are not accounted for by our analysis. Furthermore, given the specific conditions of the roofing sector, a transferability of the results to other sectors has to be viewed with caution. Despite these reservations, the presented evidence clearly highlights the need for a broader perspective on employment effects of minimum wages by also taking a closer look at workers who do not appear to be affected by the minimum wage at a first glance. Moreover, our results put doubts on any attempt to identify employment effects of minimum wages by comparing workers with and without a binding minimum wage within a covered sector.

Keywords

minimum wage, Germany, capital-labour substitution, labour-labour substitution, scale effect

Der Großteil der Mindestlohnforschung beschäftigt sich mit den durchschnittlichen Beschäftigungseffekten für Arbeitnehmer mit einem bindenden Mindestlohn, deren Lohn erhöht werden muss, damit er dem Mindestlohnniveau entspricht. Abhängig von der Produktionstechnologie könnten allerdings auch Arbeitnehmer ohne bindenden Mindestlohn betroffen sein. Die gegenwärtige Literatur erachtet diese Art von Beschäftigungs-Spillover-Effekten vor allem als potenzielle Quelle von verzerrten Schätzergebnissen.

Die vorliegende Arbeit ergänzt die bisherige Literatur zu Beschäftigungs-Spillover-Effekten von Mindestlöhnen, indem sie sich die Einführung des Mindestlohns und darauf folgende Lohnerhöhungen im Dachdeckerhandwerk zunutze macht. Mit einem Verhältnis von Mindestlohnniveau zu Medianlohn von ungefähr 1 muss die Betroffenheit in Ostdeutschland selbst im internationalen Vergleich als außerordentlich hoch eingestuft werden. Deshalb bietet die Branche die ideale Grundlage, um Beschäftigungseffekte entlang der gesamten Lohnverteilung zu untersuchen. Im Einzelnen betrachtet die Studie die Wahrscheinlichkeit, für Erwerbstätige mit und ohne bindenden Mindestlohn im Dachdeckergewerbe angestellt zu bleiben, und nutzt die Installationsbranche, die nicht von einem Mindestlohn betroffen ist, als einen geeigneten Vergleichssektor. Indem der kontrafaktische Lohn geschätzt wird, den die Vergleichsgruppe der Installateure in der Dachdeckerbranche erhalten würde, können Rückschlüsse auf die Beschäftigungseffekte entlang der gesamten Lohnverteilung gezogen werden.

Die Ergebnisse weisen darauf hin, dass die Wahrscheinlichkeit, auch nach der Mindestlohneinführung in der Dachdeckerbranche weiter beschäftigt zu bleiben, gesunken ist. Dies trifft vor allem für Ostdeutschland zu, wo die Betroffenheit vom Mindestlohn besonders groß war. Allerdings scheint die Wirkung, die durch den Vergleich von Arbeitnehmern mit und ohne bindenden Mindestlohn festgestellt wurde, im intersektoralen Vergleich unterschätzt zu werden, was auf Beschäftigungs-Spillover hinweist. Zudem deutet der intersektorale Vergleich auf negative Beschäftigungsergebnisse für ostdeutsche Arbeitnehmer entlang der gesamten Lohnverteilung hin. Branchenvertreter vermuten, dass dies eher durch die Substitution von Arbeit durch Kapital hervorgerufen werden als durch Skaleneffekte.

Unsere Erkenntnisse zu den Beschäftigungswirkungen von Mindestlöhnen sollten allerdings nicht mit der Gesamtwirkung des Mindestlohns gleichgesetzt werden, weil beispielsweise Ein- Personen-Unternehmen nicht in unserer Analyse erfasst werden. Außerdem sollte man angesichts der branchenspezifischen Rahmenbedingungen vorsichtig mit der Übertragbarkeit unserer Ergebnisse auf andere Sektoren umgehen. Trotz dieser Vorbehalte machen die vorliegenden Resultate die Notwendigkeit deutlich, die Analyse auch auf Beschäftigte auszuweiten, die nicht direkt vom Mindestlohn betroffen scheinen. Zudem stellen unsere Ergebnisse jegliche Versuche in Frage, Beschäftigungseffekte von Mindestlöhnen durch einen Vergleich von Arbeitnehmern mit und ohne bindenden Mindestlohn innerhalb eines bestimmten Sektors zu identifizieren.

Schlagworte

minimum wage, Germany, capital-labour substitution, labour-labour substitution, scale effect