In a linear regression model, specifying the conditional mean of a variable (outcome y) as a linear function of a set of explanatory variables (regressors x ), E(y|x) = xθ, absence of correlation between the regressors is typically a necessary and sufficient condition for point identification of the vector of parameters θ, for a wide range of conditional distributions of y given x. This means that with sufficiently many observations at hand, a researcher will be able to pinpoint the true value of the parameters.

However, if y or x is imperfectly measured, for instance if, for some variable, only interval measurement is available (which is often the case for variables such as age, income, or schooling), then typically point identification will be lost: whatever the number of observations available, there will be a set of values of the parameters that are compatible with the observations. This set is the identified set, and the parameter (and also the model) is said to be partially identified. The task of the researcher is then to learn from a set of observations what the identified set may be.

The literature on partially identified models has developed considerably over the last ten years and it has many applications in labor economics and more recently in the empirical analysis of game situations in industrial economics. Most of it is extremely technical, and the details needed to apply the estimation methods in practice are often missing. Indeed, this paper originated in an attempt to replicate the illustrative simulation results of the seminal contribution of Manski and Tamer (2002) who study identification regions for parameters in regressions with interval data on a regressor or the outcome.

While their focus was on illustrating the general approach, we concentrate instead on the derivation of exact results for their two Monte Carlo simulation designs. For one of these, the identified set is a simple three-dimensional polyhedron with six vertices and eight faces which is characterized by eight inequalities involving exact expectations. Estimation proceeds by replacing these expectations with sample means. We document significant gains in estimation speed and convergence to the true set, compared with the algorithm used in Manski and Tamer (2002). For the other design, the identified set is more complex, but we show that it can be closely approximated by a simple polyhedron.

Cerquera, Daniel, Francois Laisney and Hannes Ullrich (2012), Considerations on Partially Identified Regression Models, ZEW Discussion Paper No. 12-024, Mannheim. Download

Authors

Cerquera, Daniel
Laisney, Francois
Ullrich, Hannes

Keywords

partial identification, true identified set, superset, MMD, MMM, estimation

In einem linearen Regressionsmodel, in dem der bedingte Erwartungswert einer zu erklärenden Variablen y als lineare Funktion eines Vektors von erklärenden Variablen x spezifiert wird, also E(y|x) = xθ, ist die Unkorreliertheit der Regressoren in der Regel, für eine Reihe von bedingten Verteilungen von y gegeben x, eine notwendige und hinreichende Bedingung für eine Punktidentifikation des Parametervektors θ. Somit können die wahren Parameter anhand einer ausreichend großen Anzahl an Beobachtungen bestimmt werden.

Sind y oder x jedoch nicht genau gemessen, sondern, zum Beispiel, nur in Intervallen (häufig sind dies Variablen wie Alter, Einkommen, oder Schulbildung), dann ist eine Punktidentifikation in der Regel nicht mehr möglich: Unabhängig von der Anzahl verfügbarer Beobachtungen existiert eine Parametermenge, die die Beobachtungen erklären kann. Diese Menge ist die identifizierte Menge, und ein Parametervektor (genau wie das Modell) wird als partiell identifiziert bezeichnet. Die Problemstellung des Forschenden ist damit die Schätzung der identifizierten Menge anhand von Daten.

Die Literatur zu partiell identifizierten Modellen ist in den letzten zehn Jahren stark fortgeschritten und hat insbesondere in der Industrieökonomik viele Anwendungen zur empirischen Analyse spieltheoretischer Modelle gefunden. Ein grosser Teil der Literatur ist äusserst technisch und die Details zur praktischen Anwendung der Schätzmethoden sind häufig nicht dokumentiert. So hat diese Arbeit ihren Ursprung im Versuch die illustrativen Ergebnisse des grundlegenden Beitrags von Manski und Tamer (2002), die die Identifikationsregionen für Parameter in Regressionen mit Intervaldaten über y oder x untersuchen, nachzubilden.

Während der Fokus in Manski und Tamer (2002) auf der Illustration des allgemeinen Ansatzes liegt, konzentrieren wir uns auf die Herleitung exakter Ergebnisse aus ihren zwei Monte Carlo Designs. In einem der beiden ist die identifizierte Menge ein einfaches dreidimensionales Polyeder mit sechs Eckpunkten und acht Flächen, das durch acht Ungleichungen, die Erwartungswerte beinhalten, charakterisiert ist. Die Menge kann geschätzt werden, indem wir diese Erwartungswerte durch Stichprobendurchschnitte ersetzen. Wir dokumentieren signifikante Geschwindigkeitsgewinne und eine schnellere Konvergenz hin zur wahren identifizierten Menge im Vergleich zum Algorithmus, den Manski und Tamer (2002) vorschlagen. Für das zweite Monte Carlo Design ist die identifizierte Menge komplexer, aber wir zeigen daß ein simples Polyeder eine sehr gute Annäherung ergibt.

Cerquera, Daniel, Francois Laisney und Hannes Ullrich (2012), Considerations on Partially Identified Regression Models, ZEW Discussion Paper No. 12-024, Mannheim. Download

Autoren

Cerquera, Daniel
Laisney, Francois
Ullrich, Hannes

Schlagworte

partial identification, true identified set, superset, MMD, MMM, estimation