The Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) in Mannheim is a non-profit and independent institute with the legal form of a limited liability company (GmbH). Founded in 1990 on the basis of a public-private initiative in the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg in co-operation with the University of Mannheim, ZEW is one of Germany's leading economic research institutes, and enjoys a strong reputation throughout Europe.

Research Approach

ZEW's guiding mission is to study the "optimal performance of markets and institutions in Europe". To this end, ZEW applies a plurality of methodologies, with a clear focus on microeconomic and microeconometric research. The institute co-operates closely with other scientific disciplines to address research questions. In this context, the research institute distinguishes itself, inter alia, in the analysis of internationally comparative questions in the European context and in the creation of data bases which are eminently important as a basis for scientific research. In addition, ZEW provides external persons and bodies with excerpts of selected data stocks for the purpose of scientific research.

Evaluations in regular intervals ensure the quality of the work performed in the research units and its orientation towards the institute's research programme. Evaluations are carried out by the Scientific Advisory Council of ZEW, which is composed of renowned German and foreign scientists as well as of executives from the economy and public administration.

Research Funding

Institutional funding by the federal and state government institutions is the financing basis for ZEW’s research work, accounting for around 53 per cent. 47 percent of the Institute's financial resources are obtained from research projects for third parties, including the European Commission, ministries and institutions of the federal and state governments, as well as companies, associations, and local authorities.

ZEW's work is conceptually and financially supported by the ZEW Sponsors' Association for Science and Practice (Registered Society), which was founded in 1993. The firms belonging to this organisation facilitate a constant exchange between the domains of research and practice.

Open Access

ZEW has taken a clear stance for greater transparency and openness with its Open Access strategy. Open Access involves making research publications freely available online. With its new strategy, ZEW joins the national and international efforts, specifically the Leibniz Association’s Open Access Guidelines, aimed at making scientific knowledge available to all without any technical, legal or financial barriers.

Annual Report/ZEW in brief

You will find additional information about ZEW and its activities in our Annual Report and in our flyer "ZEW in brief", (as PDF file, 296 KB), as well as the Chinese version of ZEW's information brochure "ZEW in brief", (as PDF file, 994 KB).

Knowledge Transfer

One of the institute’s key objectives is to communicate research findings to the scientific community, to political decision-makers and to interested members of the public. To ensure that information reaches the intended recipients, ZEW makes use of a variety of communication channels, such as press releases, scientific and public events, as well as print and electronic media. The primary medium used for the dissemination of research findings are the ZEW Discussion Papers, which are available free-of-charge. ZEW also produces one established book series, the ZEW Economic Studies, and magazines like the ZEWnews, which are nationally and internationally distributed. In addition, ZEW seminars provide further training that is informed by scientific research and highly relevant to practice. Each year, these seminars attract hundreds of participants from the fields of academia, administration and business."

Contact

Head "Information and Communication"

Phone: +49 (0)621 1235-132

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-255

gunter.grittmann@zew.de

Introduction to ZEW

ZEW in Numbers

  • Founded: 1990
  • Legal form: GmbH (Limited Liability Company)
  • Number of employees: 188 (123 Scientists, status: December 31, 2016)
  • Executive Directors: Prof. Achim Wambach, PhD (President/Director of Science and Research), Thomas Kohl (Director/Director of Business and Administration)
  • Total budget 2016 (without building purchase): EUR 19,32 million

Financial Structure (Without Building Purchase)

  • Institutional funds: 53%
  • Third-party funds incl. other income: 44%
  • Reserve funds: 3%

Third-Party Funding by Clients

  • German Federal Government and Foreign Ministries: 33%
  • Federal States: 19%
  • Companies/Associations: 11%
  • Institutions of the European Union: 19%
  • German Research Foundation and Foundations: 15%
  • Scientific Institutions: 9%

Status 2016

Das ZEW ist ein gemeinnütziges wirtschaftswissenschaftliches Forschungsinstitut in der Rechtsform einer GmbH. Es wurde 1990 auf Initiative der baden-württembergischen Landesregierung, der Wirtschaft des Landes und der Universität Mannheim gegründet und nahm im April 1991 die Arbeit auf. Seitdem hat sich das ZEW als eines der führenden deutschen Wirtschaftsforschungsinstitute mit hoher europäischer Reputation etabliert.

Forschungsansatz

Der übergreifende Forschungsleitgedanke am ZEW ist die ökonomische Analyse funktionstüchtiger Märkte und Institutionen in Europa. Bei seiner Forschungsarbeit verfolgt das ZEW einen methodischen Pluralismus mit einem deutlichen Schwerpunkt auf der mikroökonomischen und mikroökonometrischen Forschung. Das ZEW ist offen für interdisziplinäre Kooperationen und Perspektiven. Die Forschungsergebnisse werden sowohl im Wissenschaftsbereich vermittelt als auch über Studien, Publikationsreihen, die Medien und Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen an Unternehmen, Verbände und die Wirtschaftspolitik weitergegeben. Dabei hat sich das Forschungsinstitut unter anderem durch die Bearbeitung international vergleichender Fragestellungen im europäischen Kontext sowie den Aufbau von Datenbanken, die als Grundlage für die wissenschaftliche Forschungsarbeit herausragende Bedeutung haben, national und international profiliert. Ausgewählte Datenbestände stellt das ZEW auch externen Interessierten zum Zweck wissenschaftlicher Forschung zur Verfügung.

Finanzierung der Forschungsarbeit

Die Institutionelle Förderung von Bund und Ländern bildet mit rund 53% die Finanzierungsgrundlage für die Forschungsarbeit des ZEW. Die restlichen knapp 47 Prozent an Finanzmitteln entstammen fast ausschließlich drittmittelfinanzierten Forschungsprojekten. Auftraggeber und Förderinstitutionen sind die Europäische Kommission, Ministerien und Einrichtungen des Bundes und der Länder, Unternehmen und Verbände, die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Stiftungen (zum Beispiel VolkswagenStiftung oder Fritz Thyssen Stiftung) sowie nationale und internationale Organisationen.

Ideelle und finanzielle Unterstützung erfährt das ZEW auch durch den 1993 gegründeten Förderkreis Wissenschaft und Praxis am ZEW e.V. Die Mitglieder sind namhafte regionale und überregionale Unternehmen sowie Persönlichkeiten aus Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

Open Access

Mit seiner Open-Access-Strategie setzt sich das ZEW für mehr Transparenz und Offenheit in der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Forschung ein. Open Access steht für den freien Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Literatur im Internet. Mit seiner Strategie folgt das ZEW nationalen und internationalen Bestrebungen, insbesondere auch den Open-Access-Leitlinien der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, deren Ziel es ist, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse ohne technische, rechtliche oder finanzielle Barrieren zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Jahresbericht/Das ZEW in Kürze

Sofern Sie noch weitere Informationen über das ZEW und seine Arbeit wünschen, schauen Sie bitte in unseren ausführlichen Jahresbericht oder in den Flyer Das ZEW in Kürze (als PDF-Datei, 308 KB). Die englischsprachige ZEW-Kurzinformation ZEW in brief (als PDF-Datei, 296 KB) sowie die ZEW-Kurzinformation auf Chinesisch (als PDF-Datei, 994 KB) stehen ebenfalls zum Download zur Verfügung.

Wissenstransfer

Der Transfer der Forschungsergebnisse des ZEW an Unternehmen, Politik, Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit erfolgt über entsprechende Mitteilungen an die Medien, durch Vorträge sowie Stellungnahmen und Gutachten, via Internet und in Form verschiedener Publikationen. Zentrales Medium für die Verbreitung der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsergebnisse sind die ZEW Discussion Papers, die kostenlos zum Download zur Verfügung stehen. Außerdem verfügt das ZEW mit den ZEW Economic Studies über eine eigene Schriftenreihe sowie über eine Reihe von Magazinen und Forschungsberichten, wie etwa die ZEWnews oder den Branchenreport Informationswirtschaft, die national und auch international verbreitet werden. Darüber hinaus stellt das Forschungsinstitut sein Know-how zur Verfügung, indem es wissenschaftlich fundierte Seminare für Fach- und Führungskräfte aus dem In- und Ausland anbietet.

Kontakt

Leitung "Information und Kommunikation"

Tel.: +49 (0)621 1235-132

Fax: +49 (0)621 1235-255

gunter.grittmann@zew.de

Das ZEW stellt sich vor

Das ZEW in Zahlen

  • Gegründet: 1990
  • Rechtsform: GmbH
  • Mitarbeiterzahl: 188 (davon 123 Wissenschaftler/innen, Stand: 31.12.2016)
  • Geschäftsführung: Prof. Achim Wambach, PhD (Präsident/Wissenschaftliche Leitung), Thomas Kohl (Kaufmännischer Direktor/Kaufmännische Leitung)
  • Gesamtbudget 2016 (ohne Gebäudekauf): 19,32 Mio. Euro

Finanzierungsstruktur (ohne Gebäudekauf)

  • Institutionelle Förderung: 53%
  • Drittmittel inklusive Sonstige Erträge: 44%
  • Rücklagen: 3%

Drittmittel nach Auftrag-/Zuwendungsgeber

  • Bund und ausländische Ministerien: 33%
  • Bundesländer: 13%
  • Unternehmen/Verbände: 11%
  • Institutionen der Europäischen Union: 19%
  • DFG und Stiftungen: 15%
  • Wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen: 9%

Stand 2016